51 plus request for advice…

So I finally counted my grandmother’s flower quilt and I have 51 “flowers”.  Here is the crazy Roberta count:

9 brown, 7 blue, 6 pink, 6 green, 6 plaid, 4 gold, 4 peach, 3 green plaid, 2 white, 2 pink floral, 1 different green, 1 peach plaid.

Yes, that is 51, and worse,  only 5 sets that can be laid out as traditional flowers in sets of six.  Awesome job planning. So I laid out four of the five flowers sets and I have 3 lights and 2 darks.  Except that the one set of dark a weird brown color I am not thrilled about. So after some complex drawings, I decided just put them together randomly in alternate lines of 8 and 7. This means I only need 2 more flowers to make 53.  Don’t ask me to explain the math. I will show you my flower football notes which I believe will get me partial credit on any quiz.

Anyway, I was starting to think about how am I going to put this sucker together.  I have made satin quilts before but a long time ago, before I cared about washability and stability.  That would probably be about the time I started this quilt.  Any recommendations for what fiber I should use batt and backing would be awesome.  I don’t believe I have any silk fibers which means the satin is either polyester or rayon.

On another topic, the ufo for this month is the cross stitch which I have been working on for at least eight years.  I’m 0 for 2, on finishes for ufos this year, and I am afraid this may be 0 for 3.  But I will give it a shot.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2012/03/04/51-plus-request-for-advice/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Your notes are just right. At least they don’t look like the back of an envelope or receipt fished out of the trash…not that I would know anyone who does that. :)

    No advice here. I have never made a satin quilt, but it already glows.

    • Thanks. I love the colors, too, even though I have doubts about it’s practicallity. Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 219 other followers

