book review expanding the scope

Since I have done nothing the past two days that has to do with craft, I will offer a book review.  I was thinking of starting a separate blog for books, but I really don’t want to have more than one thing going.
 
I just finished The World According to Garp by John Irving.  I actually really enjoyed it.  His tone is straight out of Kurt Vonnegut. The way he manipulates his characters also reminds me of Kurt Vonnegut, but without the science fiction. 
 
The thing that really struck me was the unfairness that Garp’s affairs gave him little punishment except the wrath of his wife, while his wife’s affair is brutally punished by the death of her child.  Why wasn’t Garp punished when he was unfaithful?   
Published in: on November 24, 2009 at 5:47 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2009/11/24/book-review-expanding-the-scope/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

