remove turtle neck

One of the easiest reconstructions is to remove a turtleneck. Since I have put on a little weight, I find turtlenecks a little hot.  Plus they make my shoulders look very wide and because of this make me look heavy.  On this sweater, I just cut off the turtleneck and turned the edge.  Then I hand sewed around it using a straight stitch.  I used turquoise embroidery floss with all the strands.  Because the sweater has little knubs of multi colored fiber in it it really blends in.  I used several short pieces of embroidery floss instead of one really long one so that the seam has a little give. When using a knit fabric, if it has no give it may pop.  Many knits require no edge finish so this really is a quick reconstruction.
Published in: on April 6, 2010 at 5:53 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/remove-turtle-neck/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

