sethie’s quilt

 
Here’s a close up of the skewed fabric.  I didn’t do it exactly on the bias just at an angle to break up the strong checker board pattern.  When I do this it always reminds me of jazz or improvise.  All my quilts are full of it: on the fly improvisation that creates visual interest.  I love problems.  In fact, when a quilt is too planned out or too easily visualized in my head, I often end up not finishing it.  I feel like all the decisions have been made for it so there is no point in finishing, no quest, no journey.
 
Also, just a note, the plaid from a maternity dress I made.  It is a slightly warped or textured fabric.
Published in: on June 5, 2010 at 6:23 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2010/06/05/sethies-quilt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

