bunny screams

 I don’t have any pets.  I had a worm compost bin.  Not once, not twice but three times, I killed all the worms.  My son said, Mom, you have a worm concentration camp.  Frankly, that is true.  I’m surprised, amazed and blessed that my sons have grown so beautiful, so healthy, and so strong.  I take only a small credit.

So, I knew that when my husband found the baby bunnies cornered in the window well of our basement by the neighbor’s cat, there was no way that I could care for them.  I wish I could, but I know it would be worm concentration camp all over again.  It was, but much, much worse.  Because bunnies can scream.

We figured out three problems:

We felt our window well was too deep for the bunnies to jump out by themselves.

We worried the momma wouldn’t come back if we handled them too much.

We worried the cat would come back.

So I called my mom and she said lift them out and my sister suggested gloves.  I looked up on-line at rabbit.org, and they said try to put them back in the nest so we did so.  My husband carefully covered the nest with a heavy pile of leaves.  We looked at the leaves periodically, but didn’t go near for the rest of the day.

We had all but forgotten about the situation, and went to bed when we heard the scream.  It was the worst, saddest sound.  We all awoke fully and ran outside.  We gave chase to the cat but it was fast.  It left a wake of screams which we followed and then… silence.  We looked at our neighbor’s house, hoping she was home but she wasn’t.  Then, we went back and tried to see if there was any bunnies in our yard.  We could see there was a bunny by the fence, but it was dark and we couldn’t tell if it was a momma or a baby.  We didn’t want to dig in the nest for fear the momma would not come back if it was her by the fence.  We were hoping she would take her other baby and hide better in  new place.

So we went back to bed.  Again, we sat up to the sound of a new screaming bunny.  Again, we chased off the cat.  This time I looked in the nest and they were both gone.  I looked where the cat was, but I couldn’t find the baby there.

So we went back to bed.  There was no more screaming that night.

What did I learn from this experience?

– Cut your losses.  Even if all the experts say not to, if a one bunny is screaming, scoop up the other one and bring it in the house.  At least, you’ll get a good night’s rest even if the poor thing ends up dying anyway.

– If other people’s animals are wandering in your yard, make sure you know what animal belongs to whom.

We did have a moment of hope.  The next night, we heard a scream again.  We ran out again and scared the cat again.  This time I knew whose care it was and they brought the cat in.  I haven’t seen or heard anything since. 

Take care, bunnies.

What did I learn?  I learned that even when you are doing everything you can sometimes it just works out badly.  It’s sad, it’s upsetting and it is life.

Published in: on July 8, 2010 at 3:32 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2010/07/08/bunny-screams/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

