Stuff

I just finished the book, Stuff: Compulsive Hoarding and the Meaning of Things.  I read it in two days.  I am a big fan of Hoarders.   This book is case studies of  the same type of people on that show.  As well as glimpsing into some pretty frightful situations, the book discusses what the authors believe are causes of the disorder.  They also bring up the different nuances of hoarding and strategies they have found successful in treating hoarding.  I couldn’t put it down.

As you know, from reading this blog, I struggle with moving things along to their next journey.  I am blessed with more of God’s resources right now than I have ever had, and I am trying not to squander these financial blessings.  Even saying that out loud, gives me a little panic attack so I temper that statement with:  I am not rich by standards of any first world nation.  But I have a lovely little house, and my family never goes hungry.  I have a beautiful sewing machine and many other objects that God has blessed me with by allowing me to work hard.  I don’t want to waste any of the blessings he has sent my way.  I want to use everything up completely.

I’m getting better at sending things on their way, sometimes to Goodwill, sometimes to trash.  It’s hard, and in no way am I a hoarder. Yet I sympathize with these people deeply and their slightly warped view of their lives. Their reasoning resonates with me and makes a strange sort of sense, if taken to the extreme.

Published in: on October 2, 2010 at 12:37 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2010/10/02/stuff/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

