animal book week

I read to books this week about animals.  I always find it interesting when I read two books about the same thing by accident.  Of course, I often read things on the same topic on purpose, like beading or crafting.  These two books only had the theme in common of animals, they had nothing else in common at all.

The first book I read Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk: A Modest Bestiary by David Sedaris.  I’m sorry, in spite of being a great big huge fan of David Sedaris, I was not a fan of this book.  It is a snarky Aesop’s fables.  It’s ironic at times, and somewhat funny but it had none of the “laugh-out-loud” parts of his previous books.

The second book I read was Some We Love, Some We Hate, Some We Eat: Why It’s So Hard to Think Straight About Animals by Hal Herzog.  I really enjoyed this book.  It it loosely structured around the title.  He brings in all sorts of interesting anecdotes from the Nazi’s treatment of animals to modern animal activists’ inconsistencies. I am really enjoying it.  It seems that no one can quite remain non-hypocritical about animals.  By the way, this is my view of animal treatment: God told us to be good stewards of the earth.  I think we should use everything we take from the earth fully and only take what we really need and nothing else.  We should be kind to animals and not harm them unless we are going to eat them or use them in a way that directly saves lives.  That being said, raw meat is disgusting.  I would probably quit eating it if I had to cook it myself all the time.  ( I am a temporary cook since S is out with his back.)  This is complete hypocrisy, so I fit right in with the book’s premise.

I have flirted with vegetarianism several times in my life and it was no problem.  This gives me no high moral ground. I am wearing suede shoes right this minute. I have equally cute shoes that are canvas.  I wear them when it is rainy (or when I feel like it). I could totally get along without leather shoes.  But they are really cute.  They look like bowling shoes.

Published in: on October 21, 2010 at 5:07 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2010/10/21/animal-book-week/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

