2011 ufo challenge

I found this 2010 UFO Challenge by Patchwork Times. I love the idea of tying up loose strings, but I have a lot of anxiety.  Will I finish all these projects?  Will I finish any of these projects?  Some of these projects are not quilts, so I hope that Patchwork Times doesn’t mind my stretching their idea a little bit.

I will give it a shot.  What is a ufo?  An unfinished object.  I have several.  Some I have been working on for years and I don’t know if I can finish in 2011.  I don’t know whether to list them or not.  Some I already plan to finish. But here goes…

1. Hawaiian quiltThis quilt I have been working on FOREVER.  I am very frustrated with it.  On the other hand it is potentially nearly done because it has the binding nearly on.  I still feel like it needs to be quilted more.

2. Blue Knitted scarf Again, I have been working on this forever.  I think I can declare it finished as soon as it reaches around my neck.

3. Valentine quilt  This is kind of a cheat.  I was planning to finish this anyway, with a tentative finish date in April.

4. Dark angel quilt I just began this last week, so although unfinished, it isn’t something I have just been leaving alone.

5. Graduation scrap-book  Yes, my boy needs a scrapbook at his graduation party.  I have started it but it has a long way to go.

6. Green, black and red, corduroy quilt  This I have had half done for DOUBLE forever. I began this quilt in 1997.  This a true ufo.

Update 2/2/11: Completed!

7. Cardinal cross stitch I have worked on this for two years, but it substantially done.

8. green t-shirt I just cut this at Christmas time.

9. denim dress remake  I have barely started this.  I just cut off the collar. I have a very vague idea of what to do with it.

10. silk quilt  These next three I am very nervous about putting on.  I have worked on them for a long time and they are hand sewing.  I am nervous I won’t finish them.

11. g cross stitch This is a top-secret project that I have worked on for six years.  It is a gift so I don’t dare give more information.  Hopefully, the person will someday receive it.

12. grandmother’s flowers quilt  Again I have worked on this project on and off for four years. Maybe longer.

I will see how it goes.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2010/12/29/2011-ufo-challenge/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Wow, nice list! I’m in the 2011 UFO challenge along with you, but most of my projects hae a great deal of piece work left to do.
    I’m looking forward to seeing your progress this year.
    Cheers,
    Dionne

    • Thanks- I had looked at your list and you have a big challenge ahead of you! I enjoyed seeing your post this morning, too, with the snowflakes. I love the percision in the quilting.


Leave a Reply

