ufo update

The first number that Judy over at Patchwork Times drew is 6.  This is for me the black, green, and red corduroy quilt.  I have been working on this quilt at least since 1997.  I know this because I turned the top in for a surface design class I was taking at the University of Minnesota and I graduated in 1997.  This makes it older than my younger son who is 12 years old now!

Anyway, the instructor had us do a bleach resist process.  We clamped black fabric between two wooden cutouts and then dipped them in bleach.  Since I was a student at the time, I didn’t have much funds for fabric. I went through my stash and found a little regular cotton fabric, and a pair of black corduroy pants. I do like the way the resist appears on the corduroy.  I pulled this out with the idea that I would give it as a gift a couple of years ago.  There were worn areas where the top had been folded.  I cut it apart and then began to reframe it with black fabric again, this time black flannel.  Then, I gave up because I decided that it was too dark of a quilt for a wedding gift.  I just gave them cash instead.  Less personal, but just as useful, and a lot less stressful for me. 

So here is a picture of it in its current state:

It appears that I did some more framing since I took the last photo for the blog. I measured the squares and a few are cut to 15 inches squares so I cut some fabric to bring the others up to that size. I cut some corduroy squares over Christmas vacation.  I thought they were their own quilt, but now I wonder if they are part of this quilt.

Anyway, I am off and running.  It feels like this is a hard quilt to start with because it is so old, but as this year is full of endings and beginnings, it will feel good to be in charge of one ending.

Published in: on January 8, 2011 at 1:25 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2011/01/08/ufo-update/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It will be interesting to see how this turns out. What a saga it is already.

    • Thanks. I made good progress today. Tomorrow I’m off to the fabric store to get more fabric.


Leave a Reply

