back of silk quilt

 

Here it is the back of the silk quilt before I assembled it.  I love the back of unfinished quilts.  All those seams carefully pressed.  As you can see, I never quite get all my seams going the same way.  I like the ant trail of hand stitches that show up on the back. I did crazy quilt foundation piecing on this quilt.   I especially like how unfinished foundation pieced quilts look from the back. It’s like a secret part of the quilt only known the quilter and, if paper pieced, often ripped out before assembly.  In this quilt, I cut up a worn sheet to use as a stabilizer.  The quilt was really worn- to the point of being sheer -so it had almost no effect on the hand. However, together the silk and the sheet became more manageable to sew, less slippery and more likely to match up. 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2011/03/08/back-of-silk-quilt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. It’s really great how even the smallest parts of something you love are your favorite–the backs of your quilts when they’re all put together. I really like a great primed canvas, ready for painting and the last stitch of a crocheting project (if I ever make it that far)! Congrats on nearly finishing! I can’t wait to see the “UFOs” in person!

    • I know… there is a satisfaction to completing it to that point. But also the secret feeling of the back that no one sees, kind of like the quilt’s underwear.


Leave a Reply

