Valentine’s quilt

I have been working on this quilt for a year and finally it is done!  I am so excited. It is one of the most girly quilts I have ever made and I think that is why I liked working on it so much.  I made it for my little niece, Mary Beth.  She is a true girly girl, with huge beautiful eyes and long blonde hair.  Her mom made me feel so good last year by asking for a quilt from me.  I had made quilts for my first three nephews when they were born, then I kind of fell away.  I was going through a bad time, and I missed making one for Mary Beth, Isaac and Annie.  I had made one for Seth, my littlest nephew, and at his baptism, I was able to give it to my sister in person (guilty pleasure: giving gifts in person, if I were truly a good person, I would not get so excited about that).  Anyway, my sister-in-law mentioned that I had given a quilt to the boys, but not Mary Beth.  I was glad she felt my quilts were that special. So, I have been working on this quilt ever since and here is the finished quilt:

This is a funny picture because I had to shoot it upside down.  It was so windy that my usual strategy of hanging it from a stick made it blow too much, so I had my husband hold it upside down so the stick would anchor it.

I may have gone a little wild on the hearts, partly because she is a little girl, but also because I wanted her to feel like she is wrapped up in love by her family. 

This quilt has a lot of history for me.  The hexagons in the corners are cut pieces that I got when my Grandma Amann died.  I have been using them ever since.  I was glad to put those in for Mary Beth so she would have that little bit of her great-grandma.  My grandmother died before Mary Beth was born, so she never got to meet her.  I wish I had something from my other grandmother for her quilt, too.

This is one of my favorite blocks.  I have only a few embroidery stitches on my sewing machine and I use  them very infrequently.  I don’t think I would use more if I had them, but I try to make good use of them.  All I did here was use a variegated thread and my nifty seam guide to make them parallel.  I love the way it came out.  Then I ran parallel hand quilting lines between the embroidered lines.

Here’s some more of my favorite blocks.  I did a tutorial on how I constructed these blocks here.  These are still some of my favorite blocks.  I did struggle a little bit removing the paper from the paper-backed part.

This is another one of my favorite parts of this quilt.  I had this large area that needed to be quilted.  I used an empty Valentine chocolate box as a template for the big heart.  (That Valentine’s box will come back again soon in another top-secret project).  I did the heart right away while I was basting.  I don’t think I will do that again because it was difficult to disguise my knots.  Later, I added the smaller heart, buttons and the butterfly.  I still feel like this could have been quilted a little more.  I machine quilted in the ditch around the center and the thin border, so I know the bat won’t shift.  However, my hand quilting is not the most sturdy so I hope it will not fall out.

Here’s a picture of the back.  I love the pink floral.  It reminds me of a nightgown I had once. My husband picked it out along with the blue and as always he is spot on.  Since the front of the quilt is a little on the dark side, I wanted the back to be lighter.

This is one of my ufos:  number 3.  I kept on hoping it would be pulled early so I could finish it for Mary Beth’s birthday, but since it didn’t, I just decided to go at it anyway. Whatever month Judy pulls 3, I will have a month off, I guess. 

I realized after I sent it up with my mom, I didn’t include a card.  So:

Happy Birthday, Mary Beth!  I hope you had a great day.

 Love, Auntie Roberta.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2011/04/17/valentines-quilt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Stitched with love! A very nice finish.

  2. this one is beautiful!!!

    • Thanks. I was afraid I went a little overboard on the girliness of it, but it was really fun to make.

  3. Hi Roberta! I feel so bad- I got really behind reading blogs for awhile and then when I started back up I didn’t go back far enough in your blog to see this! It just hit me tonight as I was checking in that you probably blogged about it! So I went to the quilting category and there it was! Once again, let me say that it is so beautiful and Mary Beth absolutely adores it. She shows all her friends and uses it all the time. In fact she just brought it to the movie in the park last night to cover up with. Oh, and nothing could ever be too girly for her! 🙂 Thank you again- I know how much time and work goes into making a quilt and I do not take that for granted. You are so sweet to make all your nieces and nephews such thoughtful, special keepsakes. I know they will treasure them always…
    Missy

    • Thanks, I’m glad she liked it. It was great to see you all, and fun to see the photos you got of Eliott’s graduation. Take care!

  4. […] this one even more.  I had the large center completed when I started.  It was left over from the Valentine quilt I made last April for Mary Beth.  I used improvisational piecing to put the rest of the […]

  5. […] little girls to sew for.  I wanted Mary Beth to have a matching quilt for her baby dolls to the quilt I gave her. It’s always fun for the cousins to have matching gifts. We always make lists for […]

  6. […] I needed to put together a quick block so I reverted to a block I made for the Valentine’s Quilt. […]


Leave a Reply

