Christmas cow and other things that make me smile today

Christmast cowYes, this is my Christmas cow.  I appliqued it yesterday.  I have had this cow for 20 some odd years since my grandmother died.  This is just like her whimsical use of fabric.  A red and white striped cow?  I wish I could ask her if she meant to use it with irony.  She would make whole quilts of these little appliqued animals that she traced from coloring books.  I still have quite a few.  I picked this one out because it matched the quilt that I am working on for Paul.  I’m not certain if he will go for it in his quilt, but it sure made me smile to make a candy cane cow.

Here’s another thing that makes me smile:

You may say, so what?  A nice family postcard.  Just to let you know this is the second year we have gotten a card from these people.  So pretty, so personal.  Yet neither Steve nor I have ever met them.  We spent about three days last year trying to figure out who they are since they had sent us such a nice, personal card.  Finally, we googled them:  he is our councilman.  Again, I googled him this year, this time I actually read his website a little to see what he was about.  I found that I do agree with him on most things. Awesome plot to get my vote!

This is a surprisingly long post, but I want to share one more thing with you. This is one of my favorite Christmas songs and it captures what I would like to say to all of you:

This Is My Prayer For You

Peaceful valleys, mountaintops

No dark alleys, or sudden stops

This is my prayer

This is my prayer for you

Love is calling, starry skies

Always falling, but not for lies

This is my prayer

This is my prayer for you

May all your sweet dreams go unbroken

May every wish you’ve ever spoken

Come true

This is my prayer

This is my prayer for you

Celebrations, true blue friends

Revelations, and a heart that mends

This is my prayer

This is my prayer for you

May all your sweet dreams go unbroken

May every wish you’ve ever spoken

Come true

This is my prayer

This is my prayer for you

Arms that welcome, doors opened wide

All your loved ones, gathered by your side

This is my prayer

This is my prayer for you

May all your days be filled with laughter

May all your prayers be quickly answered

This is my prayer

This is my prayer for you

-Reba Mcentire

Christ is born! Join the Celebration!

Published in: on December 25, 2011 at 9:22 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2011/12/25/christmas-cow-and-other-things-that-make-me-smile-today/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

