thinking

We as a family are in a waiting time.  Both boys are starting new schools this fall and the energy is one of excitement mixed with nervousness. I am working very hard on the blog book which cuts into my sewing time.  It seems I have a limited amount of creativity. 

Yesterday I did some real thinking.  I realized that I was tired of making the little strip squares.  I suddenly wondered how many I had made.  I have made nearly 150.  I decided that was enough.

Then I laid out a sample.

DSC04675

Wow! For once my picture is better than the actuality. I can’t manage to keep them sorted in any meaningful way beside basic color in this size.  I decided to sew them in groups of four, then lay them out to see what I have.

As I was sitting in my sewing room, bored of making these squares my gaze fell on this quilt:DSC04670

Several months ago I determined that this quilt was unmendable in its current form.  However, there are several sections that I really like:

DSC04671 DSC04672

There are two quilts here: the parts I Iike and the parts that have emotional resonance with my husband, mainly the t-shirts.  The third part is too worn to be salvaged.  So I cut it up:

DSC04674

More to come

Published in: on August 4, 2013 at 9:57 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2013/08/04/thinking/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Ah…remodeling with scissors. Frightening, but freeing. You are sure to come up with something wonderful.

    • Exactly my sentiment about cutting! Thanks for your confidence.


Leave a Reply

