landscape quilt

I guess I haven’t said but I have been thinking that quilt is called the landscape quilt.  Mainly because of the colors and the horizontal orientation.

I put this quilt into four patches.  Then I spent last weekend laying out the squares.

DSC04683

I just didn’t like it no matter how I arranged it.  There was too much going on.  What bothered me the most were the green and white stripes which were just too garish or Christmassy.  So after much thought, I dyed them.

DSC04687

I put together a dye wash and painted the parts I didn’t like.  I wrapped them up in plastic bags and left them overnight to process.

Of course, I over estimated how much I needed.  So I had a jar full of activated dye, so picked up a few pieces of random fabric that I thought would be much improved by dying.

DSC04689

I just pushed the fabric down and turned the jar a little bit to get the dye to come partway up the sides.  In the end, the dye saturated all layers.

DSC04691

I was very happy with how the patches turned out. It was enough of a change to tone down the white stripes.  I wonder if my dye is getting old or if I need to use some urea to make the color a little more intense. That being said for this quilt it is perfect.

DSC04692

My “jar” fabric also turned out great. Unfortunately, I can’t show you a before picture, but here is the after:

DSC04694

The dots, hearts and stripes are a light blue.  It makes this fabric less Christmassy, less garish.  I have already put together some of the patches so my goal is to have the top done by next weekend.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2013/09/01/landscape-quilt/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Interesting process. Looking forward to seeing the final product.

    • I was a little nervous dyeing the finished blocks: mainly because of the amount of rinsing they take causing fraying or shrinkage but they did fine. Always nice to hear from you!


Leave a Reply

