mending and leader and ender

DSC04736

This is a little shag rug that my grandmother had made.  I have had it for many years since she died in 1988.  The back is burlap and it had ripped.  I was not willing to give it up.  I needed a sturdy piece of fabric to reinforce it.

DSC04738

As they say, there is lid for every pot.  This rather ugly, but extremely sturdy fabric my friend Patti gave me a while ago that she picked up in a give away pile, was perfect.

DSC04739

Since I had my Bernina set up to finish the landscape quilt, I pulled out this old White sewing machine to finish the rug.  My mom gave me this sewing machine a few years ago for just this situation when I have my other machine set up for a specific project.  It was also my grandmother’s so it really brought back memories.

I finished the rug-although I was reminded several times why I bought the Bernina while working with this machine. Since it had been too fragile to wash before, I had rug washing day and washed all of my handmade rugs.

DSC04742

As you can see, my next mending job may be this hand-woven rug I made in college.  Not quite as ancient as the shag rug from my grandmother, it is still older than my fifteen year old son.

On another note, I have been steadily working on a denim leader ender:

DSC04743

It went together almost without effort when I was putting the landscape quilt together.  I already have some polar fleece for the back.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2013/10/27/mending-and-leader-and-ender/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I LOVE your rug backing!! I am very impressed with your denim quilt also!. I want to try making rugs. I didn’t know you have experience in that! Your grandmother was amazingly creative and so generous. I believe I may still have the crocheted scarf and mittens she gave me.
    Love,
    Aunt Pat

    • Thank you – it is really a nice rug to step on too. It is so furry.


Leave a Reply

