white elephant craft gifts

This is the last post of 2013 and the end of my first little book.  I will continue to post, but it will go to a second book – if the first one goes well. In any case, this was the first I could post these photos.  These are two of the three craft white elephant gifts I made for my extended family’s gift exchange.

I made this leader ender denim quilt.  I have made several of these: random squares with polar fleece back and no batt.  They are super warm and comfortable. I did add the triangles using my new templates.  I love the way the triangles look, however, I wouldn’t place them on the edge because somehow they make the edge a little wobbly.  I think I needed to trim the intersections of the triangles on the edge off.  In any case, it is warm and super comforting.

DSC04803

The other quilt is pure Christmas: psychedelic and a little overwhelming.  It is exciting, chaotic and of course, being my quilt wonky.

I really love the way it worked out.  I used bells and bells on the tops of the trees, so it jingles when it is shaken. 

This quilt is unusual for me as well because I used pre-quilted fabric.  I have never done this before.  Mainly, because the pre-quilted fabric is often so poor quality.  I had about a yard of the dark blue pre-quilted fabric from my aunt.  It was one-sided and older, so the fabric while pretty, had a little polyester in it.  I picked up some more quilted fabric at JoAnne’s: the holly, white background fabric with green leaves and berries.  This was two-sided with different, but related motifs on each side.  It is a slightly better quality and feels like it is at least cotton on the top and bottom.  It was also 70 per cent off.  I only bought a half a yard which was barely enough to do the front of this quilt. I am regretting a little bit not buying more.  I loved how quickly this quilt went together because of the prequilted fabric.  The downside is that the finished quilt is pretty stiff. This is fine for this decorative piece but if I were making a bed quilt, I wouldn’t like that. 

DSC04813

I will post again in 2014, so, my friends: may 2014 be a year full of joy and blessings for you!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2013/12/29/white-elephant-craft-gifts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love your Christmas quilt! I enjoy the season’s when I can get away with bright wonderful color mixtures. As well as using them in Charity quilts. Love your blog too. Happy New Year!

    • Thank you- I had a lot of fun with it! Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

