2013/2014 Goal lists

A new year! A good time to look forward and back.  So this year’s goals:

2014’s Goals:

The first part is clothing construction:

  1. I plan to make some garments for myself this year one per season. I am going to leave this one loose, but I do still want to learn more about this year.
  2. I also have some pieced fabric that I want to make a garment out of possibly a robe.

The second part is UFOs.

  1. City chicken quilt.
  2. Angel quilt.
  3. crossstitch project
  4. grandma’s cathedral windows

The third part is mending:

  1. t-shirt quilt. This is in pieces but I plan to get it done soon.
  2. wedding ring quilt.  I have the fabric, I just have to get to it.

The fourth part is new projects:

  1. New girl quilt.  This is a new quilt that I need to make for a gift.
  2. New male quilt.  There is one person who doesn’t have a quilt made especially for him.  I have begun this one and pictures will follow soon.
  3. Steve’s denim quilt  When I made a denim quilt for our elephant exchange, I had Steve remove the pins while watching football and he fell in love with it.  Thus, football and quilting days begin today and we will jointly make a new quilt starting today!

I only have eleven, so I won’t be necessarily assigning one per month.  Although my goal for January is to mend number seven.  I have three others I want to work on right away: 3, 10, 11.  I may try to do one a month.

Now for the retrospective.

2013’s Goals:

The first part is clothing construction:

  1. I plan to make four garments for myself this year one per season. I made two successful garments this year:  a plaid skirt and a green dress.
  2. I also have some pieced fabric that I want to make a garment out of possibly a robe. I got out the fabric and the backing muslin, but that’s it.

The second part is UFOs.

  1. Ducky quilt. I want to get this one done by spring for sure, but I would love to get it done by February. Done in April.
  2. City chicken quilt. I made progress but still not finished.
  3. Country chicken quilt. I call this done.
  4. Angel quilt. No progress.
  5. crossstitch project a tiny bit of progress
  6. grandma’s cathedral windows no progress

The third part is mending:

  1. Fish quilt done 1/27/2013
  2. t-shirt quilt started, more to do.
  3. wedding ring quilt no progress
  4. my winter coat I just got a new coat which I guess counts as a finish.
  5. Patchwork quilt done
  6. green pants done 1/27/2013

Not great: 5 done, 6 with progress and one that kind of is a cop out.  Two of my big successes of the year didn’t even make the list: the anniversary quilt my siblings and I made in May and the landscape quilt I finished in November.  Oh well, a new year is starting.  I want this to just plot a course not hold me in.  I am excited to see what 2014 brings!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2014/01/05/20132014-goal-lists/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Happy New Year!


Leave a Reply

