down proof

I have a problem with my down coat.  It sheds at a enormous rate.

DSC04846

All those white specks are down.  The are getting all over my clothes. I had recently read an article about make down garments.  In order to make a down garment, you need to use down proof fabric, in other words fabric that down can’t get through. I didn’t have any such fabric except ticking.

DSC04847

Yes, traditional ticking.  Not a match at all for my black polyester jacket.  Then I remembered this little bit of black quilting fabric I had.

DSC04848

I sewed them together used them as one piece of fabric.

DSC04850

I am happy with how it turned out.  When it is hanging it looks ok and the down does not come through it.

Published in: on March 2, 2014 at 7:59 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2014/03/02/down-proof/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

