new Alabama stitch project

I finished another Alabama Stitch Project top. This is the fitted top from Alabama Studio Sewing + Design. This garment, as with all the other ones I have made, fits perfectly. I will say that if you have little belly like me, this garment does not hide the belly at all. I am doing some sit ups.

big

 

 

I made this little decorative pattern down the front. I initially had red cross stitches down the front. Somehow they weren’t right so I ripped them out. I wanted two things, first to make it a little fancy, and also to add to the strength of the seam.  I added a running stitch in gray holding down the seam allowance on each side. I tried to make the stitches parallel to each other. Then I added a flat bead in the center and made an x, with each edge of the x touching one of the running stitch.  It is very pretty and still sturdy.

 

I am making a matching bolero and fingerless gloves which I will decorate with the same pattern.

 

Published in: on August 3, 2014 at 9:36 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2014/08/03/new-alabama-stitch-project/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. This is adorable. With each passing day I wish I had more talent sewing (and by more I mean any)
    I have a fashion blog if you’d like to check it out: http://thegeekchickblog.com/
    Camila


Leave a Reply

