finished!

The bolero is done. It took a lot of time but I am very happy with the way it turned out.

DSC05004

The sleeves are really over the top! They are a cross between Carmen Miranda and Dr. Seuss.

DSC05006

What I learned about with this one:

I used different colors for the lining on the sleeves. Since they were going to be completely covered, it didn’t seem important. However, the bottom edge does show slightly. Next time I will be more intentional about the lining.

The double layer of t-shirt is surprisingly warm.

The pattern for the sleeves is very large. It is difficult to get two sleeves out a t-shirt unless it is an extra large. For this reason, I trimmed a small amount of the ease off. This didn’t affect the fit at all for me.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2014/10/19/finished-2/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

7 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. That is amazing…I WANT one! You did such a good job and it looks great on you.

    • Thanks- the pattern is from Alabama Studio Stitch and design. She does some piecing like this, but she does not expose the raw edge. I am still a little shy about wearing it because it seems so flamboyant so thank you for your encouragement!

  2. I agree with weddingdressblue: This is an amazing piece! I absolutely love the sleeves and would wear it out as often as I could.

    • Thanks. It is a little out of my comfort zone but it makes me so happy to wear it I am getting over it. Thanks for coming by!

  3. Turned out really well. I agree about the cross between Carmen Miranda and Doctor Suess. Not a bad costume idea for this Halloween if you are looking for an idea. I like it. Do you think you will make another one but limit the color palate a bit. Keep me posted.

    • Thanks- I’m considering wearing it to work on Halloween- couple people dress up. Of course, I will wear it on weekends more…

  4. […] radar. It is one of my after dinner trying to diet not eat projects. Back in September, I made a bolero jacket with striped pieced […]


Leave a Reply

