Holy Holey

I have started to follow Sew Slowly.  She just posted about some holes she is putting in her top.  This is very intriguing to me.  I love the way that quilts wear, so I love the idea of holes in a quilt top.  She has pretty clear photos of what she is doing.  She is hand working her quilt.  I decided to use her technique but by machine.

 

DSC05175

Here is a nice four patch that did not line up the way I would like. I prepared a square quite a bit larger than my intended hole with my stitch line already marked.

DSC05176

Then, I stitched around the circle and cut out the center. I then heavily clipped the seam allowance.

DSC05178

Then turn to the back.

DSC05179

Here is the finished front:

DSC05180

Now to decide what should go in the hole.

Published in: on April 5, 2015 at 12:21 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aprilsewingjournal.wordpress.com/2015/04/05/holy-holey/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

